City Management

The City Manager is appointed by the City Council and is Chief Executive Officer of the City. The City Manager’s Department consists of the City Manager, two Executive Directors and an Assistant to the City Manager. 

Responsibility of this department includes staff organizational management, personnel appointment and removal, preparation and execution of the City budget, as well as administration of City Ordinances and policy as adopted by the City Council.

Executive Director/ acting city manager Brian James

Brian James
Contact Brian James

As Executive Director, Brian James oversees a number of different departments, including Planning, Inspections, Engineering, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Parks and Recreation, Finance, Schertz Public Library, and the Capital Improvements Program.

Previously, James worked for the City of San Antonio dealing with improved development or redevelopment in the city. He gained valuable experience working on a long list of projects for the Alamo City over a nearly 30-month period. Before that he was Deputy Director of Development Services for the City of McKinney, Texas. He worked in McKinney from 1998 to 2009 and held several positions including Planner, Senior Planner and Director of Planning.

James is a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners and is a San Antonio Clark High School graduate. He earned his Bachelor of Arts from the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) in 1992, his Master of Public Administration from UTSA in 1997, and is currently pursuing his Ph.D. at the University of Texas at Dallas. 

Executive Director Dudley Wait

Dudley Wait
Contact Dudley Wait

Dudley Wait has been employed by the City of Schertz for over 15 years.  In his current role as Executive Director his responsibilities include oversight over all of public safety (Fire, Police and EMS), Public Works (water, waste-water, streets, drainage) Fleet and Facility Services and Human Resources.

After graduating from Texas A&M, Dudley began his career as a paramedic with Sunstar Paramedics in Pinellas County Florida.  In his ten year career in Florida, he advanced through a number of positions including field supervisor, Communications Center Manager and finally Operations Manager where he was responsible for the day to day operations. Arriving in Schertz in 2001, Dudley oversaw the beginning of a new, fully paid municipal ambulance provider.  His past roles with the City include serving as the EMS Director and as Executive Director of Operations.

Dudley obtained his bachelor degree in Management in 1992 from Texas A&M and during his time there he also became certified first as an EMT and then as a Paramedic.  Dudley currently sits as the Chair of the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council’s EMS Subcommittee, is the Treasurer for our Regional Advisory Council (STRAC) and chairs our regions Cardiac Care Committee where doctors, nurses and EMS personnel have built a regional cardiac care system that is unrivaled in the State.  Dudley is also the first elected President of the newly formed Texas EMS Alliance.  This trade association is working to represent all the voices in EMS regardless of system structure as the EMS industry is changing to meet the needs of a new healthcare environment.  

Previous City Managers

  • Denny L. Arnold
    October 20, 1972 until December 1, 1977
  • Walter W. Hill
    December 13, 1978 until August 8, 1979
  • Jimmy G. Gilmore
    September 6, 1979 until June 6, 1988
  • Kerry R. Sweatt
    September 6, 1988 until August 1, 2000
  • Dewey P. Cashwell, Jr.
    February 20, 2001 until June 26, 2002
  • Mark Marquez
    October 1, 2002 until October 5, 2004
  • Don E. Taylor
    May 17, 2005 until May 31, 2011
  • John Kessel
    June 1, 2011 to January 26, 2018