Department Information


The Schertz Fire/ Rescue Department were formed in 1956 as an all volunteer department by 12 local business men. They named Archie Woodward as their first Volunteer Fire Chief. In 1959 the first fire truck was purchased, 1956 Ford Pumper. In 1970 the second apparatus was purchased; an International Pumper. In 1975 Archie Woodward was named the first part-time Fire Chief, proceeding to become the first full-time Fire Chief in 1980. In 1982 Archie Woodward retired, and Edward Melton was named Fire Chief. In 1985 the first full time fire fighter was hired to work from 0800 to 1700. In 1986 the department added two fire fighters with shifts from 0700 to 1500, and 1500 to 2300 hrs. The second duty shift consisted primarily of volunteers. In 1991 Edward Melton retired and Johnny Woodward was named Fire Chief. In 1993 the department transitioned to the current 24/48 schedule. In April of 2000 the department moved into the current Central station off of Schertz Pkwy. In 2001 Johnny Woodward retired and on March 11, 2002 Elroy Friesenhahn was named Fire Chief. In July of 2005 The City of Schertz opened its second fire station located on Interstate 35. Along with Schertz Fire Dept, Schertz EMS is housed at this station.





Useful Links

Texas Department of Health


Texas State
Fire Marshal’s Office

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

United States Fire Administration

CE Solutions
International Fire Service Training Association
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

National Fire Protection Administration

Centers for Disease Control

International Association of Fire Fighters

State Firemen’s and Fire Marshal’s
Association of Texas

Texas State Association of Fire Fighters

Department of Homeland Security

Live Oak

Alamo Heights

Leon Valley

San Antonio

New Braunfels

San Marcos

Shavano Park



Universal City



Balcones Heights Fire Dept.

Kirby Fire