City Manager

City Manager
1400 Schertz Pkwy, Administration Building
Schertz, TX 78154
Phone: 210.619.1000


The City Manager is appointed by the City Council and is Chief Executive Officer of the City. The City Manager’s Department consists of the City Manager, two Executive Directors and an Assistant to the City Manager. Responsibility of this department includes staff organizational management, personnel appointment and removal, preparation and execution of the City budget, as well as administration of City Ordinances and policy as adopted by the City Council.


City Manager
John Kessel
email John Kessel
Executive Director Brian JamesExecutive Director Dudley Wait
Executive Director
Brian James
Executive Director of Operations
Dudley Wait
email Brian Jamesemail Dudley Wait


Past City Managers

Denny L Arnold
10-20-1972 to12-1-1977
Dewey P Cashwell, Jr
2-20-2001 to 6-26-2002
Walter W Hill
12-13-1978 to 8-2-1979
Mark Marquez
10-01-2002 to 10-5-2004
Jimmy G Gilmore
9-6-1979 to 6-6-1988
Don E Taylor
5-17-2005 to 5-31-2011
Kerry R Sweatt
9-6-1988 to 8-1-2000
John Kessel
6-01-2011 to present